How many of you have seen this on your friend’s walls, or even posted yourself?
"FB Friends: PLEASE READ THE FOLLOWING TO KEEP YOUR CONNECTIONS PRIVATE. With the recent changes in FB, the public can now see activities in any wall. This happens when our friend hits "like" or "comment," automatically, their friends would see our posts too. 1. Place your mouse over my name above (do not click), a window will appear. 2. Move the mouse on “FRIENDS" (also without clicking) 3. Go down to "Settings," click here and a list will appear. 4. REMOVE the CHECK on "COMMENTS & LIKE" by clicking on it. By doing this, my activity amongst my friends and my family will no longer become public."
So, what does it really mean, and does it work?
Take the opportunity right now to go in and check on your Privacy settings
Click on the drop down arrow next to ‘Home’, in the top right corner and select ‘Privacy Settings.’ From here you can manage everything from how people can friend or find you on Facebook, to the content you choose to share and with who and to applications you’d like to delete or block. The ‘Timeline and Tagging’ option is the most relevant to today’s discussion, so let’s take a look. These are BullGuard’s recommended settings:
These settings will limit your content on your Facebook page to your friends, and only your friends. To avoid being inundated with Facebook notifications we’ve selected to not review Posts that friends have tagged you in. Did you know that Facebook social apps
can be pretty invasive as well? It’s a little confusing, and there is a fair amount of ambiguity out there on Privacy within Facebook, but have no fear. Winston and the team at BullGuard will keep you aware of any new privacy changes to help you avoid any embarrassing or awkward public moments! Be sure to visit our blog or Facebook page now and then for more information and instructions.
Have you gone through your privacy settings to see how exposed you are? How important is Privacy on Facebook to you? Share your thoughts below!