I have noticed on two occasions since upgrading to BIS 2014 that, whenever the program version is updated (most recently to 14.0.273.1), the user preference for the Antivirus component under 'Action - Action to perform' is altered from 'Block the file' (which is my preference) to 'Fix the file' (the default); and under 'Misc' the option 'Continue to monitor files when BullGuard is closed' is shown as checked, even if it was unchecked previously. In other words user preferences are being reset to default values. This never happened as far as I was aware with BIS 2013. I haven't noticed any other settings being changed in this way. Could this issue be investigated, please?
Would you please be so kind as to contact Support, at your convenience, so we can see why you continue to have difficulties? Note: Please mention the forum link somewhere in your e-mail or Live Chat: http://forum.bullguard.com/forum/15/BullGuard-2014---user-preferen_96149.htmlAndreea-Luciana Ostache Senior Support Technician EN email@example.com www.bullguard.com
I spoke too soon, it seems - the same settings had reverted to default values again this morning, as had 'Don't scan removable media', although I'm still on BIS Ver.14.0.274.1. Getting really annoying now. Could it be to do with the fact I'm on 64-bit Windows - is Bullguard writing to the correct section of the Registry?
I've received your email and sent the requested files to Support. Just for info., the settings were changed again today, although I'm still on Version 14.0.274.1 - I assume today's AV definitions update has somehow changed things.
OK, although Support asked me to do a lot of tests, I've found what is actually causing this to happen. If I disable AV protection (as I do for the purposes of making backups each week, having first disconnected from the internet of course!), and then re-enable AV afterwards, the settings revert to defaults. I've tried doing this several times today and it happens each time. So I hope that it will be finally possible for BullGuard's developers to fix the problem.
Here's a new twist - in the light of the issues raised in my earlier posts, yesterday I decided to completely shut down BullGuard (having first disconnected from the internet) before running my weekly backup; rather than just disabling the AV as previously. On re-starting the PC this morning, I discovered that although my custom antivirus settings had been retained, all my firewall rules had disappeared! This morning has been a continuous sequence of pop-ups as programs required internet access - very frustrating. I remain convinced that there is a fundamental problem with BullGuard 2014 and user settings, which may only be affecting the 64-bit version.