BullGuard Help

Main Module > Your Account

Activate, administer, switch and upgrade BullGuard Accounts.

The BullGuard Internet Security application works on a subscription based system. You will need to create an account and login to run the application.


All accounts are kept in our database to which BullGuard will connect and read the subscription details. Depending on your subscription, you will have access to either all modules of the BullGuard application or to specific modules only, such as Spamfilter or Backup.

Through the Account tab in the Home section you can interact directly with your BullGuard subscription and will be able to change user account, to upgrade your subscription, to renew it or to extend subscription time by adding licence keys.

Your BullGuard subscription username is the e-mail address displayed in the Change user section.

Your BullGuard account

Change user

The user currently logged in is shown in the Change user section and on the Main page of the BullGuard interface. Clicking on the Change user button will display the Login window where users can log in with their existing account details or with a new BullGuard account. In case the password was changed or reset, it is necessary to log in again with the new account details.

 Registration process

Note that the registration process is applicable only when you first install BullGuard on the computer. If another version was previously installed on the computer, the register option will be grayed out.

All BullGuard Internet Security accounts can be used on up to three different computers at the same time. You will need to upgrade your subscription if you need more than three computers protected with the same account

All BullGuard accounts are protected by a username and a password which you are asked to create when registering for the first time. The username must be a valid e-mail address to which all BullGuard related e-mails (including payment confirmations) will be sent.

Protect Security Settings with a password: Allows BullGuard to restrict access to some of its areas and ask for the user account password confirmation whenever accessed:

- Antivirus, Spamfilter and Home section settings are password protected

- Turning off modules will ask for password confirmation

- Closing BullGuard from the System Tray icon (right click and select Exit) will ask for password confirmation.

When you try to access one of the above sections, BullGuard will ask for the password once and - for a specific period - you will not be asked for the password again. When the “No password request” period expires, you will be prompted for your password again. Also, closing and restarting BullGuard will reset the password lock timer.

You can enable or disable this option when you first login/register an account or, afterwards, from the Home Status and Settings section.

 

Account options allow you to choose whether you want BullGuard to log in automatically at the next startup by using the provided account details (Login automatically option) and to setup their proxy server details if necessary (I use a proxy connection option).

The View privacy policy allows you to read out private data collection and processing policies and shows that BullGuard is compliant with today’s standards in personal information management laws and agreements.



Password recovery

Another reason for using valid e-mail addresses is the password recovery process which will send an automatic e-mail through which you will be able to reset your lost password. You will need to undergo this password recovery procedure as the Support Team does not have access to your password and due to data privacy laws will not reset the password.

Recovering your password step by step

Step 1.

Click on the Recover my password button. This will open the BullGuard password recover webpage. You will need to write down and confirm the e-mail address used for your BullGuard account. Entering the code presented in the image is necessary to prevent malicious applications to spam the password recovery form. You need to type the characters in the image exactly how they appear and with caps if necessary.

 

Step 2.

After clicking Submit, a confirmation message appears to notify you that an e-mail was sent to the e-mail address used in the recovery form.

 

Step 3.

The e-mail contains a link that will allow you to reset the password to your liking. BullGuard employs this method to ensure that only the owner of the e-mail account (and of the BullGuard account respectively) has the ability to reset the password. Even if your BullGuard username should somehow fall into the wrong hands, no one but the owner of the e-mail account can reset the password. Click on the LINK hyperlink in the e-mail to reach the password reset form. The e-mail address used in the previous step will appear in the TO: field in the e-mail,

 

Step 4.

After clicking the hyperlink in the e-mail, a new browser window will open with the password reset form. Fill in the e-mail address you used for the BullGuard account and choose a new password for your account. You need to type the password once again to confirm it and to avoid any spelling mistakes. Click on the Submit button when finished.

 

Step 5.

A new window will appear as soon as you press Submit notifying you that the process has completed successfully.

Step 6.

After resetting the password, you will need to re-log in to the BullGuard application. Simply click the Change User button in the Your BullGuard account tab and enter the subscription details accordingly.



Renew and Upgrade

These options allow you to either renew an expired subscription or upgrade your current one. When clicking on either button, you will be taken to the BullGuard Webshop page.

When using the Renewal option, you will be able to opt for periods ranging from 1 year to 3 years with prices depending on the chosen subscription time.

For both Renewal and Upgrade, the BullGuard Webshop will display any discounts you may be eligible for.