BullGuard Help

Backup > Backup your data

The BullGuard Backup main feature from where users can setup Backup profiles, run them or edit them.

Along with custom made files or e-mails backup profiles, users can create Backups for the Windows default locations such as My Documents folders which will include pictures, movies, desktop content and saved documents.


To start creating a profile, simply click on the "Backup your data" button from the Backup main section:

* If there is no profile present, the Backup Guide will start immediately
* If profiles already exist, an option to either use an existing profile or create a new one will appear


File Backup Guide

Step 1

The first step in configuring a Backup profile is to choose what to backup – files or e-mails. There are two separate guides - one for files and one for e-mails Backup Profiles. Click Next once you have selected Files.

Step 2

In the next step, you need to choose which folders to backup. Click on the + button to add folders to the Backup profile, navigate to the folder you want to add to the backup profile, select it and click on OK. Both folders and individual files can be added to a profile.

 Filtering function

For each Backup profile you can define specific filters; click on Select Filters… to set them up. The purpose of the Filter is to allow you to backup only the type of files or folders you need to, saving you time and space.

Step 3

In this step, you will need to choose the location you want to backup the files to. The backup can be stored on the Online Drive, on a CD/DVD, on the local computer (usually using an external hard disk) or on a network computer.

Step 4

All Backup profiles can be scheduled to either start at a convenient time avoiding computer slowdowns or to backup important documents on a regular basis preventing information loss.

Never, I’ll start it myself – you will need to run this profile manually to backup the information.

While my computer is idle – the profile will only run in the background when the computer is not being used. If any action is performed on the computer, the backup process will pause.

I want to select a schedule – you can set the profile to run automatically at set time intervals. This will ensure that any information included in the profile will be backed up on a regular basis.

Step 5

The Advanced Backup settings allow you to further customize your profile by adding special features such as encryption, versioning and backup compression.

Synchronization mode: BullGuard comes with a synchronization mode, which works in conjunction with the scheduled backup. By default, BullGuard will never delete files from your backup if they have been deleted from your computer.

However, the synchronization mode can help save space on the Online Drive by deleting old files you have deleted from your computer as well. This is especially useful if you use the backup to store your work files - this way you will only have the most recent versions on the backup drive, instead of older ones.

 IMPORTANT

If you accidentally delete a file from your computer and have "Synchronization mode" enabled, then when the scheduled backup begins, BullGuard will delete that file from the Online Drive as well.


Compress my backup: All the data from the online backup space will be compressed to use as little space as possible.

However, if you use this option, the files will not be directly accessible by browsing the online drive with Windows Explorer or Internet Explorer. If you access your backup drive often and need the files to be readily accessible, it is not recommended to use this option.


Encrypt my backup: By default, the transfer to our backup drive is encrypted for maximizing the security of the data you send to our servers. However, by checking this option, the data put on our servers will be encrypted with a pass phrase that only you have access to.

With this option enabled, the files will not be directly accessible by browsing the online drive with Windows Explorer or Internet Explorer. This is not a recommended option if you frequently access your backup and  only need to retrieve a few files when browsing the online drive with any browser.

 IMPORTANT

If you accidentally forget the pass phrase, you will lose your files as you won’t be able to retrieve them. The BullGuard Staff does not have any kind of access to your private encryption pass phrase which means we can not reset it.


Keep several versions of my files: With this option enabled, you are allowed to have more backups of the same file on the online drive.

Step 6

As the last step, you can name the profile as you like and also choose to have BullGuard run the profile as soon asyou click the Finish button.

Using the Start this backup now will run the newly created profile as soon as you click on the Finish button. After the Backup Guide closes, you can find the newly created profile by accessing the Backup Profiles tab.