If the On Access engine finds infected files, a pop-up message will appear letting you know how the Antivirus dealt with it. BullGuard’s reaction to a virus will depend on how first and second actions are configured.
If the infection is moved to the quarantine, you can click on the underlined quarantine link and BullGuard will display the Quarantine window. You can read more on how to manage the quarantine from the Quarantine guide.
To close the pop-up window click on the Close button.
The More details button will display more information about the infection BullGuard stopped, such as the virus name, exact file path and the process that tried to access the infected file.
Behavioural Detection alerts
If you have activated the Behavioural engine, you may receive pop-up messages regarding applications running on your computer. Blacklisted applications (registered malware) will be blocked automatically, while other applications may just be flagged as suspicious.
The pop-up message will show the executable file. Clicking on More details will provide you with additional information about the blocked program.
Allow: By clicking it, you resume using the program, otherwise the file will remain blocked by the Behavioural engine. If you know its origin and you are sure the warning is just a ‘false positive’ detection case, you should allow it. You can report the ‘false positive’ cases directly to us by clicking the Report false positive button.
Quarantine: It will move the executable file in BullGuard’s Quarantine folder. The file will be deleted from its original location.
Report false positive: sends the process to us for analysis. Detection will be removed should our tests turn out that it was a false positive.
More details: Displays additional information about the executable file such as path, security risk and the files modified.
Additionally, you can see why BullGuard blocked the file (what policies determined the Antivirus to flag it as suspicious):
- Windows registry changes
- Creating files in sensitive/protected areas of the operating system
Settings change alerts
If you have enabled the Protect Internet options feature in the Antivirus settings, the following notification will pop-up in case your your Internet browser settings are being changed by either you or any potentially unwanted applications:
The pop will inform you which browser is affected and also what the attempted change was. Clicking on More details in the alert will provide more information on the change.
Revert: will revert the Internet browser settings to the configuration from before the change
Allow: will implement the attempted changes in the Internet browser settings.
More details: will display more information such as the process that is attempting the changes and what these are precisely.
The Antivirus real-time protection engine also keeps track of both incoming and outgoing emails. It will let you know when it prevents a virus contained in an e-mail message from infecting your computer.
Close: closes the notification window.
More details: will display more information about the infection BullGuard stopped such as the virus name, sender email address and the process that accessed that specific email (your email client application).