Premium Protection Guides

Find all the help you need with detailed guides to the different aspects of BullGuard protection

Backup Advanced Settings

 

The Advanced Backup settings, accesible from the Backup drop-down (...) > Manage Profiles button > How tab, allow you to further customize your profile by adding special features such as encryption, versioning and backup compression.

 

 

BK19

 

 

Synchronize my backup: BullGuard comes with a synchronization mode, which works in conjunction with the scheduled backup.

 

The synchronization mode can help save space on the Online Drive by deleting old files you have deleted from your computer as well. This is especially useful if you use the backup to store your work files - this way you will only have the most recent versions on the backup drive, instead of older ones.

 

Tooltip: hovering over the option will display more details about it.

 

 

BK20

 

 

ExclamationMarkIMPORTANT

 

If you accidentally delete a file from your computer and have "Synchronization mode" enabled, then when the scheduled backup begins, BullGuard will delete that file from the Online Drive as well.




 


Compress my backup:
All the data from the online backup space will be compressed to use as little space as possible.

 

However, if you use this option, the files will not be directly accessible by browsing the online drive with Windows Explorer or Internet Explorer. If you access your backup drive often and need the files to be readily accessible, it is not recommended to use this option.

 

Tooltip: hovering over the option will display more details about it.

 

 

BK21

 

 


 


Encrypt my backup:
By default, the transfer to our backup drive is encrypted to maximize the security of your data. However, by checking this option, the data put on our servers will be encrypted with a pass phrase that only you have access to.

 

With this option enabled, the files will not be directly accessible by browsing the online drive with Windows Explorer or Internet Explorer. This is not a recommended option if you frequently access your backup and only need to retrieve a few files when browsing the online drive with any browser.

 

Tooltip: hovering over the option will display more details about it.

 

 

BK22

 

 

ExclamationMarkIMPORTANT

 

If you accidentally forget the pass phrase, you won’t be able to retrieve your files. BullGuard employees do not have access to your private encryption pass phrase which means we cannot reset it.

 

 


 

 

Encrypt file names: By default, this option is enabled and encrypt the name of the files. When accessing the Online Drive, files that have their name encrypted will have a different name that the original (i.e f00001instead of “BG_Installer).

 

Tooltip: hovering over the option will display more details about it.

 

 

BK23