If the On Access engine finds infected files, a pop-up message will appear letting you know how the Antivirus dealt with it. BullGuard’s reaction to a virus will depend on how first and second actions are configured.
To close the pop-up window click on the Close button. To prevent other pop-ups from the On Access engine, tick the Don’t display any more alerts options and click on Close.
The More details button will display more information about the infection BullGuard stopped, such as the virus name, exact file path and the process that tried to access the infected file.
In the rare case of the Antivirus not being able to deal with an infection on the spot, we advise you to use the Contact support option to ask for assistance, either by e-mail or live chat.
Behavioural Detection alerts
If you have activated the Behavioural engine, you may receive pop-up messages regarding applications running on your computer. Blacklisted applications (registered malware) will be blocked automatically, while other applications may just be flagged as suspicious.
The pop-up message will show the executable file. Clicking on More details will provide you with additional information about the blocked program.
Allow: By clicking it, you resume using the program, otherwise the file will remain blocked by the Behavioural engine. If you know its origin and you are sure the warning is just a ‘false positive’ detection case, you should allow it. You can report the ‘false positive’ cases directly to us by clicking the Report false positive button.
Quarantine: It will move the executable file in BullGuard’s Quarantine folder. The file will be deleted from its original location.
More details: Displays additional information about the executable file such as path, security risk and Process ID (process identification number).
Additionally, you can see why BullGuard blocked the file (what policies determined the Antivirus to flag it as suspicious):
- Windows registry changes
- Creating files in sensitive/protected areas of the operating system
The Antivirus real-time protection engine also keeps track of both incoming and outgoing emails. It will let you know when it prevents a virus contained in an e-mail message from infecting your computer.
Close: closes the notification window. To prevent other email virus detection messages from being displayed, check the Don’t display any more alerts option before clicking on the Close button.
More details: will display more information about the infection BullGuard stopped such as the virus name, sender email address and the process that accessed that specific email (your email client application).