Inconsistent, choppy browsing upon installation of BullGuard 8.7

Posted 10/8/2009 5:31 PM

KrunchiePops Member

Date Joined Nov 2016
Total Posts: 2
I must firstly say that I like BullGuard - it has a solid, dependable and reliable feel to it, and the BullGuard corporation seems to value it's customers, and the target market.

However, I wanted to check on the topic above (Inconsistent, choppy browsing upon installation of BullGuard 8.7.) on here, as I was not encouraged by the response from support staff, or more precisely, the measures that were suggested I undertake to possibly ameliorate the problem.

I experienced slow, inconsistent browsing after installing BG 8.7. I have a Norton IS subscription and had just recently upgraded to NIS 2010, and while reading up about it, read again about BullGuard, which wasn't amongst the 6-7 suites I trialled 18 months ago. Decided on Norton then but it took a number of suites to choose - why not try BG? Could be better! So after fully uninstalling NIS, I installed BG 8.7. I only mention this as backstory, using Norton my internet browsing had been fast and smooth.

Essentially, BG lengthened my startup time considerably, and rather badly affected my browsing experience (not unlike when your ISP is having a tough day).

I contacted support firstly via Live Chat, whereupon the support staff member suggested that an email should be sent to me, explaining further actions to be taken. This turned out to be a (very nicely worded, thumbs up BG!) request to send a sysdump logfile and a Hijack This logfile, and instructions as to how to go about this.

Fine, easily done.

The response was quick, and pinpointed some "areas of concern". In the main, these were to deactivate UAC, uninstall Peerguardian 2, and also uninstall Infineon's Security Platform Suite. All three were identified as conflicting with BullGuard.